Cartouche

Cartouche | Punkrock | Montreuil/Frankreich

Since 2004, the French band Cartouche has been spreading their positive rage in France, Germany, Poland, Serbia, Hungary, Belgium, in clubs, squatted houses, youth centres, etc., with pieces of life, songs of resistance, mostly interpreted in French by a female voice. Cartouche shares with the audience the emotion and rage of the Vilnius ghetto singing of the partisan (in Yiddish), the verses full of despair and fighting spirit of Marianne Cohn.

After the first work “Je trahirai demain” (2006) with punk intonations from the 80s (Blondie, Clash, etc.), the second album “A corps perdu” (2009), the third album “Bread & Roses” was released in June 2014. The melodies are sometimes more melancholic, but some others are more angry.

The murder of animals, the exile, the time that goes on and the friendship that never ends, the violence against women and the exploitation of their bodies and work. 13 years later, the band Cartouche is still inhabited by the desire to share music and convictions with the “Eternal Rebel of our humanity, poor lovers to die”.

2017 appeared on Fire and Flames Music,  Maloka, Rudy’s Back and Acontrario Records the fourth and definitely most mature album of Cartouche. “A Venir” contains 10 beautiful songs that skillfully mix melodic punk, rock’n’roll, new wave influences and the concise chanson vocals of lead singer Géraldine.

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Cartouche

Cartouche | Punkrock | Montreuil/Frankreich

Stücke des Lebens, Lieder des Widerstandes, meist von einer Frauenstimme auf Französisch interpretiert, verbreitet die französische Band Cartouche seit 2004 ihre positive Wut in Frankreich, Deutschland, Polen, Serbien, Ungarn, Belgien, in Clubs, besetzten Häusern, Jugendzentren usw.. Cartouche teilt mit dem Publikum die Emotion und Wut, die der Gesang des Partisanen aus dem Ghetto von Vilnius (auf Jiddisch) vermittelt, die Verse voller Verzweiflung und Kampfgeist von Marianne Cohn.

Nach dem ersten Werk „Je trahirai demain“ (2006) mit Punk-Intonationen aus den 80er Jahren (Blondie, Clash, etc.), dem zweiten Album „A corps perdu“ (2009), erschien im Juni 2014 das dritte Album „Bread & Roses“. Die Melodien sind manchmal melancholischer, aber einige andere sind wütender.

Der Mord an Tieren, das Exil, die Zeit, die weitergeht und die Freundschaft, die nie endet, die Gewalt gegen Frauen und die Ausbeutung ihres Körpers und ihrer Arbeit. 13 Jahre später ist die Band Cartouche immer noch vom Wunsch bewohnt, Musik und Überzeugungen mit den „Ewigen Rebellen unserer Menschheit, armen Liebhabern, um zu sterben“ zu teilen.

2017 erschien auf Fire and Flames Music,  Maloka, Rudy’s Back und Acontrario Records das vierte und definitiv ausgereifteste Album von Cartouche. „A Venir“ enthält 10 wunderschöne Songs, die gekonnt melodischen Punk, Rock’n’Roll, New Wave-Einflüsse und den prägnanten Chanson-Gesang von Lead-Sängerin Géraldine vermischen.

This post is also available in: English