Brixton Cats

Brixton Cats
Brixton Cats | Antifa Streetpunk’n’Roll | Paris/Frankreich

The Parisian punk rock legends Brixton Cats formed in September 2002 on the initiative of four more or less young people to create a punk rock band with explicit anti-fascist and anti-capitalist expression. Tristan (guitar), Jeff (bass) and Solen (vocals) were quickly supported by Victor as second guitarist and former member of Brigada Flores Magon.

The band was quickly prepared for their first concert in February 2003, in keeping with the annual celebration of the magazine “Combat Syndicaliste”, the monthly organ of the French CNT, where they shared the stage with Ya Basta and Brigada Flores Magon. The group was very well received and quickly started accumulating a large number of solidarity concerts and rock’n’roll parties. A little later the band had earned their place in the French anti-fascist music scene.

After Victor had left the band to return to his country of origin Mexico, the band was still able to reorganize and go on tour. Together with Brigada Flores Magon, Brixton Cats toured Italy and played in Annemasse at the Anti-G8-Camp. After that they concentrated on finally releasing a demo. This self-titled demo, released in CDR format in 2004, was sold over 500 times. At that time Brixton Cats played many more solo concerts, as well as organizing concerts with the anti-fascist music collective Rock’n’Riot and the Parisian Redskin fanzine Barricata.

Another line-up change became necessary when Tristan decided to concentrate exclusively on his role as guitarist of Brigada Flores Magon. He was replaced by Mathieu, the guitarist of Paranoi, whom they met at a joint concert at the CNT headquarters. With the new line-up, the band played concerts in Paris, Geneva, Rennes, Bordeaux, Nancy, Dijon and Metz. They shared the stage with bands like the Angelic Upstarts, Conflict, The Oppressed, La Souris Degluingee, Oi Polloi, The Movement or the Stage Bottles.

In July 2005, the Brixton Cats finally went into the studio to record their first record. The result was 14 tracks, a few from the demo and some new and a great debut album. It was released by Solitude Urbaine in France and Fire and Flames Music in Germany. The vinyl version was released by Kanal Hysterik and Anarkoi (sublabel of Maloka).

In December 2013 the band released a second album, on which Brixton Cats perfected their well-known and distinctive streetpunkrock’n’roll. Quartier Maudit was initially released digitally only until 2015, 4 1/2 years after the first announcement, when it was released on vinyl by Fire and Flames Music, Appel aux luttes and Machete Records. Unfortunately, it will probably remain the last album…

After the band announced their end at the end of 2013 and stopped playing concerts, they could be seen live again in 2018 at some selected events in France, Canada and Germany.

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Brixton Cats
Brixton Cats | Antifa Streetpunk’n’Roll | Paris/Frankreich

Die Pariser Punkrock-Legenden Brixton Cats gründeten sich im September 2002 auf Initiative von vier mehr oder weniger jungen Leuten um eine Punkrock-Band mit explizit antifaschistischem und antikapitalistischem Ausdruck zu schaffen. Tristan (Gitarre), Jeff (Bass) und Solen (Gesang) wurden schnell unterstützt von Victor als zweiten Gitarristen und einstigem Mitglied von Brigada Flores Magon.

Die Band war schnell gewappnet für ihr erstes Konzert im Februar 2003, passenderweise zur jährlichen Feier der Zeitschrift „Combat Syndicaliste“, dem monatlichen Organ der französischen CNT, wo sie die Bühne mit Ya Basta und Brigada Flores Magon teilten. Die Gruppe kam sehr gut an und startete schnell eine Vielzahl von Solidaritätskonzerten und Rock’n’Roll Parties anzusammeln. Wenig später hatte sich die Band ihren Platz in der französischen antifaschistischen Musikszene erspielt.

Nachdem Victor die Band verlassen hatte um in sein Herkunftsland Mexiko zurückzukehren war die Band trotzdem fähig sich zu reorganisieren und auf Tour zu gehen. Zusammen mit Brigada Flores Magon, sind Brixton Cats durch Italien getourt und spielten in Annemasse auf dem Anti-G8-Camp. Danach konzentrierten sie sich darauf, endlich ein Demo zu veröffentlichen. Dieses selbstbetitelte, im CDR-Format veröffentlichte Demo, das 2004 raus kam, wurde über 500 mal verkauft. Zu dieser Zeit spielten Brixton Cats viele weitere Solikonzerte, genauso wie sie als wichtiger Teil selbst Konzerte mit dem antifaschistischen Musik-Kollektiv Rock’n’Riot und dem Pariser Redskin-Fanzine Barricata organisierten.

Ein weitere Besetzungswechsel wurde nötig, als Tristan sich entschloss sich ausschließlich auf seine Rolle als Gitarrist von Brigada Flores Magon zu konzentrieren. Er wurde ersetzt durch Mathieu, dem Gitarristen von Paranoi, den sie bei einem gemeinsamen Konzert in der CNT-Zentrale kennenlernten. Mit dem neuen Line-Up spielte die Band Konzerte in Paris, Geneva, Rennes, Bordeaux, Nancy, Dijon und Metz. Sie teilten die Bühne mit Bands wie den Angelic Upstarts, Conflict, The Oppressed, La Souris Degluingee, Oi Polloi, The Movement oder den Stage Bottles.

Im Juli 2005 sind die Brixton Cats endlich ins Studio gegangen um ihre erste Platte aufzunehmen. Das Ergebnis waren 14 Stücke, ein paar vom Demo und einige neue und ein grandioses Debütalbum. Es wurde veröffentlicht von Solitude Urbaine in Frankreich und in Deutschland von Fire and Flames Music. Die Vinylversion erschien bei Kanal Hysterik und Anarkoi (Unterlabel von Maloka).

Im Dezember 2013 veröffentlichte die Band dann ein zweites Album, auf dem Brixton Cats ihren bekannten und unverwechselbaren Streetpunkrock’n’roll perfektioniert haben. Quartier Maudit erschien zunächst nur digital, bis es 2015, 4 1/2 Jahre nach der ersten Ankündigung, von Fire and Flames Music, Appel aux luttes und Machete Records auf Vinyl gebracht wurde. Leider wird es wohl das letzte Album bleiben…

Nachdem die Band Ende 2013 ihr Ende bekannt gab und keine Konzerte mehr spielte, waren sie 2018 bei einigen ausgewählten Anlässen in Frankreich, Kanada und Deutschland wieder live zu sehen.

This post is also available in: English

Menü schließen
×
×

Warenkorb