Clothing

Apparel Mission Statement

The food we consume, the goods that we buy at the grocery store and the clothes that we wear on the body are in most cases produced with the prospect of maximum profit as cheaply as possible in order to remain competitive in the global capitalist competition. That this principle is at the expense of the working and producing people and the environment as a whole, is well known. The clothing industry is one of the largest global production sectors in this game, exploitation of people, environment and natural resources for the production of cheaper goods are everyday business here.

When a t-shirt reaches the retail, it has often already had a world journey behind it, the raw material (cotton) is used for spinning, from there for dyeing and then transported to the sewing room. In this chain, each intermediate step of the production can be carried out in completely different (low-wage) countries before it goes on sale in Europe. It is therefore important to pay attention to “fair” wages and working conditions and to reduce CO2 emissions due to shorter transport routes.

While the working conditions of people represent one side of the production chain, also the raw material and the use of chemicals in the clothing industry is extremely high. Cotton products usually need about 10,000 liters of water per kilo in manufacturing (http://www.waterfootprint.org) and in the cotton fields enormous amounts of chemical fertilizers and pesticides are used. Here we need to ensure that our products are produced biologically compatible and resource-saving.

We have therefore decided, if possible, to use T-Shirts and other clothing of manufacturers which comply with certain minimum standards, such as “Earth Positive” (http://www.earthpositive.se/about.html). EarthPositive is certified under the “Global Organic Textile Standard” (GOTS, http://www.global-standard.org), member of the British “Soil Association” (http://www.soilassociation.org) and tested by the “Fair Wear Foundation” (FWF, http://www.fairwear.nl). The criteria of the FWF are: limitation of working hours, free choice of employment, no exploitative child labor, no discrimination in employment, legally binding employment, safe and healthy working conditions, freedom of association and the right to collective bargaining as well as payment of a good living wage.

Certainly there are ways to get even better T-shirts, for example, from collective farms in South America. However, at this point we reach a limit that is related with you and us as buyers: Our goal is to provide not only good-looking and high-quality clothing – it should be affordable, and at the same time cover our expenses. We know that many people simply can not afford expensive brands, on the other hand we as Europeans live in one of the richest and most expensive regions in the world. As a compromise, we think that a T-shirt on sale may and has to cost something between 15 and 20 euros in order to ensure that certain standards are maintained, (almost) everyone can afford it and we as a collective can pay our expenses.

Similarly with products such as raincoats, track jackets, etc .: A lot of what Fire and Flames produced earlier, we would not do so today. We are currently looking for manufacturers and sewing factories, where we can check both working conditions and origin of raw materials more or less directly and have the shortest possible transport routes. The goal is to produce quality jackets in the future , with a fair and organic production chain behind it.

Where possible, we work together with movement-related companies and collectives. Most of our prints are made from Splashirts (http://www.splashirts.de/), a small company from Wuppertal with a nice crew, which has long been on the road in the Punk / HC scene. We are also working together with the very likable No Collar Silkscreen collective from Kiel (https://www.facebook.com/nocollarsiebdruck). In cases where we cooperate with “normal” companies, we place great emphasis on working conditions and in doubt we’ll inform ourselves about working hours, overtime pay, wages, etc.. Much of our embroidered materials are made directly by a Kiel-based company.

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Clothing

Apparel Mission Statement

Die Nahrung die wir zu uns nehmen, die Waren die wir im Supermarkt kaufen und die Kleidung die wir am Körper tragen wird in den allermeisten Fällen mit der Aussicht auf maximalen Profit so billig wie möglich produziert, um im weltweiten kapitalistischen Wettkampf konkurrenzfähig zu bleiben. Dass dieses Prinzip zu Lasten der arbeitenden und produzierenden Menschen und der gesamten Umwelt geht, ist hinlänglich bekannt. Die Bekleidungsindustrie gehört in diesem Spiel zu den größten globalen Produktionssektoren, die Ausbeutung von Menschen, Umwelt und natürlichen Ressourcen zur Herstellung möglichst billiger Ware ist hier alltägliches Geschäft.

Ein T-Shirt hat, wenn es den Einzelhandel erreicht, meistens schon eine ganze Weltreise hinter sich, die Rohware (Baumwolle) wird zur Spinnerei, von dort aus zum Färben und danach zur Näherei transportiert. Dabei kann jeder einzelne Zwischenschritt der Produktion in völlig verschiedenen (Billiglohn-)Ländern durchgeführt werden, bevor es auf den Markt in Europa kommt. Hier kommt es also darauf an, auf „faire“ Löhne und Arbeitsbedingungen zu achten und den CO2-Ausstoss durch kürzere Transportwege zu verringern.

Während die Arbeitsbedingungen der Menschen die eine Seite der Produktionskette darstellt, ist auch der Rohstoff- und Chemieeinsatz in der Bekleidungsindustrie enorm hoch. Baumwollprodukte benötigen in der Regel ca. 10.000 Liter Wasser pro Kilo in der Herstellung (http://www.waterfootprint.org) und auf den Baumwollfeldern werden enorme Mengen an chemischen Düngemitteln und Pestiziden verwendet. Hier müssen wir also darauf achten, dass unsere Produkte möglichst biologisch verträglich, ressourcenschonend und chemiearm hergestellt werden.

Wir haben uns daher entschieden, wo möglich T-Shirts und andere Kleidung von Herstellern zu verwenden, welche gewisse Mindeststandards einhalten, wie z.B. „Earth Positive“ (http://www.earthpositive.se/about.html). Earth Positive ist unter dem „Global Organic Textile Standard“ (G.O.T.S., http://www.global-standard.org) zertifiziert, Mitglied der britischen „Soil Association“ (http://www.soilassociation.org) und arbeitsrechtlich von der „Fair Wear Foundation“ (FWF, http://www.fairwear.nl) geprüft. Die Kriterien der FWF sind: Begrenzung der Arbeitszeit, freie Wahl des Arbeitsplatzes, keine ausbeutende Kinderarbeit, keine Diskriminierung bei der Beschäftigung, rechtsverbindlicher Arbeitsvertrag, sichere und gesunde Arbeitsbedingungen, Versammlungsfreiheit und das Recht auf Tarifverhandlungen sowie Zahlung eines existenzsichernden Lohnes.

Sicherlich gibt es Möglichkeiten, noch bessere T-Shirts, z.B. aus Kollektiv-Betrieben aus Südamerika, einzukaufen und anzubieten. An diesem Punkt gelangen wir jedoch an eine Grenze, die mit uns und Euch als KäuferInnen zusammenhängt: Unser Ziel ist es nicht nur gut aussehende und qualitativ hochwertige Bekleidung anzubieten – sie soll auch bezahlbar sein, und dabei gleichzeitig unsere Unkosten decken. Wir wissen, dass sich viele Menschen teure Marken einfach nicht leisten können, andererseits leben wir als MitteleuropäerInnen in einer der reichsten und teuersten Gegenden dieser Welt. Als Kompromiss denken wir, dass ein T-Shirt im Verkauf irgendwo zwischen 15 und 20 Euro liegen kann und sollte, damit gewisse Standards gewahrt bleiben, (fast) jedeR es sich leisten kann und wir als Kollektiv dabei auch über die Runden kommen.

Ähnlich verhält es sich mit Produkten wie Regenjacken, Trainingsjacken, etc.: Vieles, was Fire and Flames früher produziert hat, würden wir heute so nicht mehr machen. Wir sind momentan auf der Suche nach Herstellern und Nähereien, bei denen wir sowohl Arbeitsbedingungen als auch Herkunft der Rohware mehr oder weniger direkt überprüfen können und möglichst kurze Transportwege haben. Das Ziel ist, in Zukunft wieder hochwertige Jacken zu produzieren, hinter denen eine möglichst faire und ökologische Produktionskette steht.

Wir arbeiten wo es geht mit bewegungsnahen Betrieben und Kollektiven zusammen. Die meisten unserer Drucke werden von Splashirts (http://www.splashirts.de/) gemacht, einem kleinen Betrieb aus Wuppertal mit einer netten Crew, die schon lange im Punk/HC Bereich unterwegs ist. Außerdem arbeiten wir mit dem sehr symphatischen No Collar Siebdruckkollektiv aus Kiel zusammen (https://www.facebook.com/nocollarsiebdruck). In Fällen wo wir mit „normalen“ Betrieben zusammenarbeiten, legen wir sehr viel Wert auf die Arbeitsbedingungen und lassen uns im Zweifel Informationen über Arbeitsstunden, Überstundenbezahlung, Löhne usw. geben. Ein Grossteil unserer bestickten Materialien lassen wir direkt von einem Kieler Unternehmen besticken.

This post is also available in: English

© 2017 Fire and Flames Music and Clothing